2022
2022

A Book Nerd's Guide to Read-Alikes

April 22, 2022
Learn More!
0
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Books-A-Million guest blogger Sara Planz is a #Bookstagrammer, #BookTokker, and self-proclaimed book nerd.

With the popularity of so many different #BookTok books, I know many of us are experiencing book hangovers after finishing books that left us wanting more. And sometimes the only cure is to read books that are in the same vein. So let’s take a look at some popular books and their read-alikes to help you get through those complicated feelings (and maybe add to your TBR stack at the same time).

If You Liked The House in the Cerulean Sea...

This book by T.J. Klune was a literal hug for me and is one of my favorite books of all time. This “found family’ story is told in a way that made me want to escape into the world the author masterfully created.  And judging by the other reactions and reviews I have seen about this book, I was clearly not alone. Here are a couple of others that might work for you:

  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman - Nobody Owens, known as Bod, would be completely normal if he didn't live in a graveyard and wasn't being raised by ghosts. A found family like no other and frankly one of the most perfect books I have ever read.
  • Under the Whispering Door by T.J. Klune - When a reaper comes to collect Wallace from his own funeral, he suspects he might be dead. And when Hugo, the owner of a tea shop, promises to help him cross over, Wallace decides he's definitely dead. But he's not ready to abandon the life he barely lived, so when Wallace is given one week to cross over, he sets about living a lifetime in seven days. Make sure you have your tissues ready for this one!

If You Liked The Love Hypothesis

One of my favorite tropes in romance is the fake dating scheme, and The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood delivers on it. This book is a total delight and a modern rom-com at its finest, with witty banter and steamy fun, all set in the world of academia. Try these read-alikes: 

  • The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang - Stella thinks math is the only thing that unites the universe, and creating algorithms for her job has given her a lot of success.  She’s got money, but not a lot of experience dating. Stella also has Asperger's, and the idea of physical intimacy has been a struggle for her. Her conclusion: She needs to practice—with a professional. Which is why she hires escort Michael Phan. Spicy, funny, and completely adorable!
  • A Lot Like Adios by Alexis Daria - Michelle has built a business as a graphic designer. Gabriel left the Bronx at 18 to escape his parents, but it also meant saying goodbye to Michelle, his best friend and longtime crush. He’s a successful owner of L.A.'s hottest gym and is opening a New York City location. Michelle is hired to create the marketing campaign, and suddenly they are back in each other’s worlds. Michelle is torn between ignoring their chemistry or picking up right where they left off. Second-chance romance with a touch of fake dating and enemies to lovers that will leave you wanting more.

If You Liked Verity

When I finished Verity by Colleen Hoover, I closed it and immediately started it over again. This book STILL has me guessing as to what exactly was going on! It is creepy and disturbing, and the ending left me completely shocked. Get a similar sensation with these books:

  • The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides - This psychological thriller builds layers upon layers of suspense. Alicia is a famous painter married to a photographer, Gabriel, and it seems they have it all. But one evening, Alicia shoots him five times in the face, killing him, and then never speaks again. She is held at the Grove, a secure forensic unit where Theo is a criminal psychotherapist. He has waited a long time to work with Alicia, and it threatens to consume him. And this book will consume you, too!
  • The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave - “Protect her.” That’s the last message Hannah receives when her husband Owen goes missing. He is referring to his daughter Bailey, Hannah’s stepdaughter. But Bailey doesn’t want anything to do with her stepmother. Hannah and Bailey have to work together to unlock the mystery of Owen’s disappearance, and the consequences of what they find might change their lives forever. This is a page-turner and a great blend of mystery and thriller rolled up into one addictive ride.

You might also like...

Perfect Gifts for Mother's Day

The Candy House Is a Literary Treat

A Book Addict's Top Reading Tips

True Crime Roundup