Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted on Jan 6, 2017 in BookPage Reviews, Top Picks

BookPage’s Top 10 Books—January 2017

 

Are you looking for your next great read? The BookPage editors have some suggestions. Check out their Top 10 books from the January issue. 

 

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

By Lindsey Lee Johnson

COMING OF AGE

High school drama has taken on a new tension in the age of social media—as Lindsey Lee Johnson proves in a timely and provocative debut that recalls Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep.

Read more>> 

 

 

 

The Case Against Sugar

By Gary Taubes

NUTRITION

Get a surprising perspective on your sweet tooth in this eye-opening look at America’s sugar addiction from the bestselling author of Why We Get Fat.

Read more>> 

 

 

 

The Girl in Green

By Derek B. Miller

SUSPENSE

A British journalist and a disgraced American G.I. set off on a Quixotic quest for redemption in the darkly humorous new novel from award-winning writer Derek B. Miller (Norwegian by Night).

Read more>>  

 

 


In the Great Green Room

By Amy Gary

BIOGRAPHY

The unconventional life of Margaret Wise Brown, author of children’s classics Goodnight, Moon and The Runaway Bunny, is portrayed with sympathy and novelistic detail in this page-turning biography by publishing veteran Amy Gary.

Read more>> 

 

 

The Bear and the Nightingale

By Katherine Arden

DEBUT FICTION

Medieval Russian history and folklore lend a striking backdrop to this magical coming-of-age story, which features a resourceful heroine readers will root for.

Read more>> 

 

 

 

The Winter in Anna

By Reed Karaim

LITERARY FICTION

A fledgling reporter is drawn to a woman with a tragic past in this quietly powerful story of unlikely friendship and small-town dreams, which will appeal to fans of Pat Conroy and Ward Just.

Read more>>

 

 

 

Two Days Gone

By Randall Silvis

MYSTERY

Readers of thoughtful procedurals by authors like Louise Penny or Attica Locke won’t want to miss this tense literary thriller, which follows a man on the run after being accused of murdering his wife and children.

Read more>>

 

 

 

I Hate Everyone, Except You

By Clinton Kelly

MEMOIR

The hilarious host of “The Chew” and “What Not to Wear” has written an engrossing, no-holds-barred memoir that’s full of both laughs and wisdom.

Read more>>

 

 

 

Lucky Boy

By Shanthi Sekaran

FAMILY SAGA

This wise and compassionate second novel explores the question of what makes a family—and presents a provocative moral dilemma for readers—as two very different women find their lives linked by their love for the same little boy.

Read more>>

 

 

The Dry

By Jane Harper

SUSPENSE

In this taut and atmospheric debut mystery, federal agent Aaron Falk is drawn back to his rural Australian hometown in order to clear the name of his childhood best friend, but ends up awakening past demons.

Read more>>

 

Post a Reply