Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted on Sep 15, 2016 in Announcements

Martha Hall Kelly’s “Lilac Girls”

martha-hall-kellyMartha Hall Kelly’s remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. LILAC GIRLS was inspired by the life of one real World War II heroine.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline s world is forever changed when Hitler s army invades Poland in September 1939 and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbruck, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

lilac-girls

Buy Now

For readers who loved “The Nightingale” and “Sarah’s Key”, pick up a copy of “Lilac Girls” today.

About Martha

I’m a novelist and native New Englander, still pinching myself since Ballantine Books, a Penguin-Random House imprint, recently acquired Lilac Girls, the book I’ve been writing for five years. The novel is historical fiction, based on the true story of Polish women who were imprisoned at Ravensbruck Concentration Camp and how Caroline Ferriday, an American philanthropist and former actress brings them to the U.S. I have been researching the story for over ten years and am excited beyond belief to finally share it with the world.

Post a Reply